Helping the Foundation deliver its charitable aims

The Advisory Council was set up at the end of 2015 to assist the Foundation on delivering our charitable aims. It provides independent expert advice, support and constructive challenge in areas including developing general strategy and plans, identifying new funding opportunities and emerging priorities, maximising impact plus suggesting other bodies to work with. The Advisory Council meets twice a year.


  • Provide independent expert advice
  • Support the Foundation
  • Constructively challenge
  • Identify new funding opportunities
  • Identify emerging priorities
  • Maximise impact
  • Suggest other bodies to work with

Terms of reference

  • Input to the Foundation's strategy and its annual refresh 
  • Advise on new areas of research 
  • Advise on challenges and ‘white space’ 
  • Advise on co-ordination with global funding bodies 
  • Comment on quality and competitiveness of research 
  • Advise and assist in leading a peer review college 
  • Act as ambassadors for the Foundation 


In addition to participants from the Foundation team there are 10 external members.

Professor Anja Boisen

Professor Anja Boisen
Head of Centre of Excellence, DTU Nanotech, Technical University of Denmark.

Professor Michael Bruno

Professor Michael Bruno
Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

Professor Lui Pao Chuen
Professor Lui Pao Chuen 
Retired in 2008 after serving 41 years in the SAF and MINDEF and 22 years as Chief Defence Scientist. He is adviser to the National Research Foundation, Prime Minister’s Office, six Ministries and Government Agencies and to President NUS and NTU.
Professor Michael Fitzpatrick

Professor Michael Fitzpatrick
Pro-VC at Coventry University with responsibility for the portfolio of engineering, environment and computing; LR Foundation Chair of Structural Integrity and Systems Performance. Chartered Engineer, Chartered Scientist, Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining; Member of the Institute of Directors.

Dr Arnab Majumdar

Dr Arnab Majumdar
Senior Lecturer in Transport Risk Management and the Director of the Transport Risk Management Centre (TRMC) at the Centre for Transport Studies, Imperial College London.

Professor John Perkins FREng, CBE
Professor John Perkins FREng, CBE

Chief Scientific Adviser at the Department for Business Innovation and Skills until January 2015. Prior to this he was Provost at the MASDAR Institute of Science and Technology, Abu Dhabi.

Professor Jeremy Watson, FREng, CBE

Professor Jeremy Watson FREng, CBE 
Professor of Engineering Systems at UCL, and Vice-Dean for Engineering Mission. Chief Scientist and Engineer at BRE.

Professor Sir Mark Welland FRS, FREng

Professor Sir Mark Welland FRS, FREng 
Director of The Nanoscience Centre, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge.

Professor Richard A Williams, OBE FREng FTSE

Professor Richard A Williams OBE FREng FTSE
Principal and Vice-Chancellor at Heriot-Watt University (UK, Dubai, Malaysia)