John Julius Angerstein - 1797

The first known Chairman of the Society for the Registry of Shipping in 1797, Angerstein was a leading marine insurance broker. He was among those seeking to transform the business of Lloyd's underwriters into a more professional, efficient and reputable organisation, and his chairmanship of the Society may have been driven by similar concerns.


The LRF Heritage & Education Centre's projects continue to enhance public understanding in marine and engineering science and history.

George Palmer - 1833-34

It was Palmer's position as the first chairman of the General Shipowners' Society, a body instrumental in calling for reform of the two registers, that made him an ideal candidate to become Chairman of the Provisional Committee which brought about the reconstituted Lloyd's Register of British and Foreign Shipping.

David Carruthers - 1834-35

The successor to George Palmer, David Carruthers was the shortest serving Chairman in Lloyd's Register's history. Carruthers died after only ten months in office, his heart broken, it is said, by the enormous sum he had to pay to win election as one of the Members of Parliament for Hull in the 1835 general election. Carruthers was also on the committee of Lloyd's of London.

Thomas Chapman - 1835-81

Chapman, along with Secretary Charles Graham, was instrumental in ensuring the early success of Lloyd's Register, for which he became known as 'the Father of Lloyd's Register'. As one earlier historian of the Society recorded, for Chapman, 'Lloyd's Register was a life's work'. From Secretary to the Provisional Committee, he was appointed Vice-Chairman and then took over as Chairman on the sudden death of his predecessor, David Carruthers in 1835.

William Henry Tindall - 1881-99

William Henry Tindall rendered great service to Lloyd’s Register, first joining the Committee in 1856. He served as Deputy Chairman from 1871 before being elected as Chairman on the retirement of Thomas Chapman in 1881.

Sir John Glover - 1899-1907

Chairman from 1899 to 1907, Sir John Glover, as he became in 1900, was a distinguished London shipowner and shipbroker. Described as ‘A perfect gentleman’ who according to Jabez Barrett was ‘somewhat harsh in his judgement, but possessed of a kind heart, very firm but considerate.’

James Dixon - 1907-09

Having first become a member of the General Committee in 1878, James Dixon was unanimously elected as Chairman on the retirement of Sir John Glover in 1907. Dixon owned the site in Fenchurch Street on which the new Lloyd's Register office was built in 1901.

Sir Thomas Lane Devitt, Bart - 1909-20

Sir Thomas Lane Devitt, the son of one of the founders of Devitt and Moore, a London shipbroking and shipowning concern that ran passenger cargo ships to Australia. He was a charismatic man who was loved as much by the dock workers and ship crews as he was by his staff in the City.

Sir John Henry Luscombe - 1921

In his youth Sir John Henry Luscombe represented England in the very first international Rugby Union match, played in 1871 against Scotland. He joined the vessel Norwood aged 16 before beginning a successful career as an underwriter for Lloyd's at 22.

James Herbert Scrutton

- 1922-25

One of the best known shipowners in the country, James Herbert Scrutton was the first of the third generation of Scruttons to be associated with the family business. He joined the firm in 1875 and was made partner in 1884 along with his cousin, Frederic Scrutton.

Sir Thomas James Storey, KBE - 1925-28

Sir Thomas rendered invaluable service to the Society during his tenure as Chairman from 1925 to 1928. His sound judgement and wide knowledge and experience helped to solve problems of great difficulty.

Sir George Higgins, CBE

- 1928-43

Higgins spent his shipping career with the coastal shipping company of William France, Fenwick & Co Ltd, of which he was Managing Director and Chairman.

Ernest Lionel Jacobs - 1943-46

Jacobs, an underwriter, joined the General Committee in 1918 and became Deputy Chairman in 1937. Although his tenure as Chairman lasted only three years, he had trenchant views about the need to reform the way the Society was governed but found it difficult to bring about change.

Sir Ronald Thornbury Garett - 1946-57

Garrett held office from 1946 to 1957. His decision to devote himself to the post full-time helped him to become the strongest Chairman since Thomas Chapman.

Sir Kenneth Raymond Pelly - 1957-63

Unlike his predecessor, Sir Ronald Garrett, Pelly who served from 1957 - 1963, was only a part-time Chairman and he continued to run the shipping company he had joined in 1919, William France, Fenwick & Co. Ltd.

Sir Anthony C Grover - 1963-73

Unlike his immediate predecessor, Sir Anthony Grover was a full-time Chairman, focusing on public relations matters and making many overseas visits on behalf of the Society. He started working for the 'other' Lloyd's in 1925, becoming an underwriting member in 1936. He joined the Coldstream Guards in 1940, serving with them as an officer in North Africa and Italy.

Robert Andrew Huskisson, CBE - 1973-83

Robert Hukisson was born in London in 1923, and educated at the Merchant Taylor's School and St Edmund Hall, Oxford. He was commissioned into the Royal Corps of Signals and served in Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany and the Middle East, being demobilised in 1947 with the rank of Major.

Sir Hugh Roderick MacLeod - 1983-93

A Cambridge graduate, MacLeod joined Ben Line Steamers in 1953 and became its joint managing director in 1964. He recognised the importance of the container revolution and was responsible for setting up and running the Line's major container operation between Europe and the Far East.

Patrick C K O'Ferrall, OBE - 1993-99

O'Ferrall regarded his biggest challenge as Chairman as overseeing the development of the organisation's computer and operating systems. After army service in the Middle East, he graduated from Oxford in 1958 and then spent 32 years in the oil industry, finally becoming director of Total Oil Marine (Engineering and Construction) Ltd.

David Moorhouse, CBE - 1999-2010

After studying engineering at Imperial College, London, David Moorhouse joined John Brown Engineering Constructors in 1975, becoming a director of John Brown plc in 1986.

Thomas Thune Andersen - 2010-present

In October 2010, Andersen, a former Member of the Board for the A.P. Moller-Maersk Group, took over at the non-executive helm of Lloyd's Register after almost 25 years in the maritime and energy sectors.