We’ve detected that you are using an outdated browser. This will prevent you from accessing certain features. Update browser


The Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees, which is responsible for setting the Foundation’s strategy and for ensuring it fulfils its objectives – delivering public benefit – and for ensuring good governance. The Foundation Chief Executive, Richard Clegg, is responsible to the Board for the operation of the Foundation.

The Trustees and Chief Executive of the Lloyd's Register Foundation are listed below.

As we approach 2050, high levels of population growth, reducing energy supplies and other challenges will make our role even more important.

Thomas Thune Andersen

Chairman, Lloyd's Register Group and Lloyd's Register Foundation

  • Thomas Thune Andersen, Chairman

    Thomas Thune AndersenThomas Thune Andersen is the Chairman of the Lloyd’s Register Foundation and Chairman of Lloyd’s Register Group Limited. He is a member of the Foundation’s Nominations Committee and the Lloyd’s Register Group Limited Remuneration Committee.

    Thomas, a former member of the executive Board of the A.P. Moller-Maersk Group with more than 30 years tenure in its maritime and energy sectors, was appointed to the Board of the former Lloyd’s Register in June 2010. Thomas is Chairman of Ørsted A/S, Vice Chairman of VKR Holding A/S, the parent group of Velux and Non-Executive Director of IMI plc and BW Group Limited. He is member of the World Economic Forum Chairmen’s Council.

  • Lambros Varnavides, Senior Independent Trustee

    Lambros VarnavidesLambros is the former Managing Director and Global Head of Shipping at The Royal Bank of Scotland. He is Deputy Chair of the Baltic Exchange and sits on its Finance and Charity Committee. He is also a court assistant to the Worshipful Company of Shipwrights and Chair of its Finance Committee. He was appointed Senior Independent Trustee of the Lloyd’s Register Foundation on the 29 September 2015 and chairs the Grants Committee.

  • Rosemary Martin, Trustee

    Rosemary MartinRosemary was appointed Group General Counsel and Company Secretary of Vodafone Group in April 2010. She previously served as CEO of the Practical Law Group, having spent 11 years with Reuters Group Plc in various company secretary and legal roles – the last five years as Group General Counsel and Company Secretary. Before joining Reuters, she was a partner with Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw. Rosemary was admitted as a solicitor in 1984 and holds a degree in Philosophy and Literature and an MBA in Legal Practice. She is a member of the Financial Services Authority’s Listing Group Advisory Committee and an Independent Non-Executive of Ernst & Young.

  • Ishbel Macpherson, Trustee

    Ishbel Macpherson spent over 20 years in corporate finance in the City of London with BZW, ABN AMRO Hoare Govett and Dresdner Kleinwort Benson.

    At Dresdner Kleinwort Benson, Ishbel lead the mid market corporate finance, corporate broking, corporate broking support and investment trust teams. Since leaving the City Ishbel has become an experienced non executive director having or having had roles with over 10 mainly publicly listed companies as chairman, chairman of audit committees, remuneration committees and as senior independent director. Currently, she is senior independent director and chairman of the remuneration committee at Dechra Pharmaceuticals plc and senior independent director and chairman of the remuneration and audit committees at Bonmarche Holdings plc.

  • Carol Sergeant CBE, Trustee

    Carol Sergeant CBECarol has non-executive positions on the boards of Danske Bank and Tullett Prebon plc. She is also Chairman of the whistle blowing charity Public Concern at Work, Chairman of the BSI Standards Strategy and Policy Committee, a member of the Governing Council and Trustee of the Centre for the Study of Financial Innovation and member of the Cass Business School Advisory Board. She has previously been Managing Director on the board of the Financial Services Authority, and Chief Risk Officer at Lloyds Banking Group, having begun her career at the Bank of England.

  • Andreas Sohmen-Pao, Trustee

    Andreas Sohmen-Pao

    Andreas Sohmen-Pao is Chairman of BW Group and its listed affiliates, BW Offshore, BW Energy, BW LPG, BW Epic Kosan and Hafnia.  He is also Chairman of the Singapore Maritime Foundation.

    Mr Sohmen-Pao has also served as a non-executive director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd, The London P&I Club, The Esplanade Co Ltd, National Parks Board Singapore, Sport Singapore and the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore, amongst others.

  • Dame Una O'Brien, Trustee

    Dame Una O'BrienDame Una O'Brien is a member of the Board of Trustees of Macmillan Cancer Support, a Member of Council of the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine and a Member of the Board of Visitors at the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford.

    Una has wide-ranging experience of healthcare policy and government having held a variety of senior policy roles in Whitehall departments and the NHS over a 30-year career in public service.  Whilst working primarily in and for the Department of Health, she was also the Principal Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Transport and worked in the Prime Minister’s Efficiency Unit under both Conservative and Labour governments.  Between 2010 and 2016 she was the Permanent Secretary at the Department of Health, the first woman to hold the post in the department’s history.

Sign up for news from the Foundation

Hit enter or the arrow to search Hit enter to search

Search icon

Are you looking for?