We’ve detected that you are using an outdated browser. This will prevent you from accessing certain features. Update browser

The Advisory Council

Helping the Foundation deliver its charitable aims.

Wind turbines protruding above clouds

The Advisory Council was set up in 2015 to assist the Foundation in delivering our charitable aims. It provides independent expert advice, support and constructive challenge in developing general strategy and plans, identifying new funding opportunities and emerging priorities, maximising impact plus suggesting other bodies to work with.

The Advisory Council meets twice a year.

The Advisory Council's advice and challenge is crucial as we work to grow the Foundation and maximise its impact on society.

Thomas Thune Andersen




  • Provide independent expert advice
  • Support the Foundation
  • Constructively challenge
  • Identify new funding opportunities
  • Identify emerging priorities
  • Maximise impact
  • Suggest other bodies to work with.


Terms of reference

  • Input to the Foundation's strategy and its annual refresh 
  • Advise on new areas of research 
  • Advise on challenges and ‘white space’ 
  • Advise on co-ordination with global funding bodies 
  • Comment on quality and competitiveness of research 
  • Advise and assist in leading a peer review college 
  • Act as ambassadors for the Foundation.


In addition to participants from the Foundation team there are nine external members.

Professor Richard A Williams

Professor Richard A Williams - VC Heriot-Watt University
Richard is Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Heriot-Watt University. His background is an academic and entrepreneur in mineral engineering, energy storage systems and environmental technologies.  He is a graduate of Imperial College. He has founded several innovations based business including two PLCs. 

Dr Hayattun Sillum

Dr Hayatuun Sillum - Chief Exec, RAEng
Hayaatun has worked for the Royal Academy of Engineering since 2006 and held the post of Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Director of Strategy until her appointment as CEO. She previously served as Committee Specialist and later Specialist Adviser to the House of Commons Science & Technology Committee.

Professor Lynn Gladden - Exec Chair, EPSRC

Professor Lynn Gladden - Exec Chair, EPSRC
Professor Lynn Gladden is the Executive Chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and was appointed in October 2018. Professor Gladden is the Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, and a Fellow of Trinity College. She also holds a Postgraduate Certificate in Education in Physics from the University of Oxford.

Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt - Chairman ODI and Cambridge Un

Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt - Chairman ODI and Cambridge Uni
Sir Nigel Shadbolt is chairman of the Open Data Institute which he co-founded with Sir Tim Berners-Lee.  Nigel is one of the UK’s foremost computer scientists.  He is a leading researcher in artificial intelligence and was one of the originators of the interdisciplinary field of web science.  He is Principal of Jesus College Oxford, a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Oxford and a visiting Professor of Artificial Intelligence at the University of Southampton.

Vint Cerf FRS - Google Evangalist

Vint Cerf FRS - Google Evangelist
Vinton Cerf is vice president and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google. He contributes to global policy development and continued spread of the Internet. He has served in executive positions at MCI, the Corporation for National Research Initiatives and the Defence Advanced Research Projects Agency and on the faculty of Stanford University. Vint served as chairman of the board of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) from 2000-2007.

Louise Terry

Louise Terry
Louise is an elected trustee for the RI and brings to the Board extensive expertise in corporate communications and reputation building. She was communications director for The Coca-Cola Company and the L'Oréal Group at executive committee level where she was responsible for external and internal communications, including media and government relations and issues management.

David Halpern

David Halpern - Chief Executive of Behavioural Insights Unit, HMG
David Halpern is the Chief Executive of the Behavioural Insights Team. He has led the team since its inception in 2010. Prior to that, he was the founding Director of the Institute for Government and between 2001 and 2007 was the Chief Analyst at the Prime Minister’s Strategy Unit. Before entering government, David held tenure at Cambridge and posts at Oxford and Harvard. He has written several books and papers on areas relating to behavioural insights and well-being.



Sign up for news from the Foundation

Hit enter or the arrow to search Hit enter to search

Search icon

Are you looking for?